Jetlagged!

Hello, hello!  This will be a quick update on my life, but I will have some lengthy stuff in a new post…with gratuitous, self-serving details of my vacation for anyone who wants to live vicariously through it.  I’m back from my 2 week trip to the Philippines, and learned a LOT about traveling (especially minimalist traveling).  There is so much I would do differently, but all in all it was a great trip…one of the most memorable I have been on.  But really, what international trip is less than memorable, hmm?  :)   I returned to New York only 4 days ago, returned to work 3 days ago, and am still recovering from the jet lag.  There’s a 13 hour time difference between here and the Philippines.  So far, I’ve been waking up at 5am, drinking 3 cups of coffee at work, and fall asleep as soon as I get home at 8pm.  It doesn’t feel great.

I’m also leaving next week again, to visit my boyfriend’s family in their Wisconsin hometown.  I’ve never been to the true Midwest….we have family in Chicago, but I wouldn’t say Chicago is a great example of Midwestern life!  It’s going to be interesting to see what that side of America is like. Living in New York, living in a big city, coming from an immigrant family and having mostly friends who are also from immigrant families, I barely even know what the typical American daily meals are like.  A good friend of mine once stayed with an American family for over a year and told me they tend to eat meat and pasta every night (I had a culture clash moment with that).  My boyfriend has been kind of secretive about what we’re going to do in Wisconsin, but it seems like his family will be driving out to their hometown to meet me too.  I think they’re doing Christmas dinner early for us!

Sadly, I have no idea what to get anyone for a present.  I guess we’re bringing wine once we land?  I don’t really know these people so it’s quite hard to personalize the gift.

Now for an unrelated conversation with my uncle today:

UNCLE: “You know, your cousin is in a cult now.”

ME: “What’s the name of the cult?”

UNCLE: “I forgot the name.”

ME: “…What do they believe in?”

UNCLE: “I think they believe in only one god.”

That….sure helps narrow it down o_O

One thought on “Jetlagged!

  1. Haha what great convo with your uncle!

    I am glad you learned about traveling ;) it is an art form which many don’t understand! And the bags I know must of helped alot hehe.

    So you will be a yankee staying out in the open range learning about the midwest life and then realizing your very much a city kid but a break away from the hustle and bustle is a good vacation. I hope you have a great time out there!

Leave a Reply

