Now Playing: Wind Waker HD, Hero Mode!

It’s even prettier in person, but attracts dust like CRAZY! Fresh out of the box, it’s already got stuff stuck to it!

After months of going back and forth on it, my boyfriend finally broke down.  We went to Gamestop, first thing after the dog park, and waited for GameStop to open.  It took a couple of hours to set everything up and even download the game – why was it not preloaded?! – but finally, it’s here…The Legend of Zelda Limited Edition Wii U!!  And the Wind Waker HD remake!  With pretty much nothing else of note on the Wii U till the end of the year, this remake is pretty much the ONLY thing moving Wii U units right now.  I’m somewhat worried about Nintendo, but feel pretty sure that by this time next year, things should be looking good for them.  They’ve always relied on top quality, polished 1st party games to sell consoles.

Even though I owned a GameCube (possibly the best console ever…I loved how portable it was!), I NEVER played Wind Waker before….After Ocarina of Time (which I played on GC because I never had an N64), the series just stopped for me.  I can’t even justify it at all, except with a dumb excuse of being cheap.  I hate buying games when I don’t have time to play them anymore, or anyone to play with.

Anyway, the new remake is absolutely BEAUTIFUL….some aspects of it no longer hold strictly to the cel-shaded look of the original version, but I’ve briefly tried the original out on Dolphin and the beautification was a welcome improvement.  Nothing about it looks dated, despite the game itself being 11 years old!!!  The remake also comes with “Hero Mode” – you take twice the damage and there are NO HEART REFILLS.  Meaning I can’t cut grass to heal myself, but I still can buy red potions to restore health.  They are, of course, pretty rare…especially in the beginning of the game.  Either that or I’m too poor (a rich person in the Zelda universe has lots of empty bottles!).

Against my boyfriend’s warnings, I decided to play in Hero Mode!  Why?  Because I like struggling in games.  I don’t really know what I could attribute it to.  One could try to justify it and say it’s because I played a lot of Starcraft and you simply have to accept you will lose at least half the matches you ever play in it.  Even in The Sims, I make everyone live in extreme squalor for as long as possible, taking sleep shifts to share beds.  Not to mention I’m also a long-time fan of the Fire Emblem series, which is another game where you’ll die 50 times an hour.  I like it though.  I like the struggle, I like feeling as if I’ve overcome things…I like feeling a CHALLENGE.  When I play games like Mario & Luigi: Dreamteam, or Luigi’s Mansion 2, I get really disappointed before the halfway point because it’s too damn easy.  It still takes me a while to complete these games, given that Nintendo is great about supplying content…but they’re just pretty brainless to play.  There’s no strategy and barely any gaming skill required to complete them.  Just time.  Even though I died a lot, it felt great to figure out how to defeat each enemy and clear an area in 2 minutes, when the first attempt took me 10 minutes.  I’m absolutely loving the challenge of Hero Mode.  You can still switch the difficulty at the Title Menu, however I’m hoping I never give in to that temptation.  Might happen during a boss fight…

This has all just gotten me even more hyped up for the Symphony of the Goddess concert coming up this November 1st!  It’s 4 movements comprised of songs from the Zelda series, played by a live orchestra….I went to the first version of it last year, and this year is supposed to be slightly different.  But who am I kidding?  Even if it was EXACTLY THE SAME I still would have bought tickets!  What’s gonna be cool this time around is I’ll be going with a boyfriend who is also totally in love with Zelda :)  More so than I am, since he’s played both the old and new ones, and I just have the old ones in my nostalgia bank.

Leave a Reply

