30DDC: Day 14: Favorite Fairytale: The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid, written by Hans Christian Andersen. Time...hours and hours...not sure exactly how much.

The Little Mermaid, written by Hans Christian Andersen. Time…hours and hours…not sure exactly how much.

Although the Disney version is GREAT and you’ll catch me humming some of its songs at times, it’s the original Hans Christian Andersen version that I love. His stories in general are amazing because they have no morals and are completely over the top and ridiculous. But the Little Mermaid, short as it was, really stood out as something beautiful and whimsical….she danced on daggers not just for love but out of curiosity, and that curiosity about the world around her was very refreshing in a heroine.  I suppose I felt her character was a little deeper in the fairytale version…and it was one of the few times I cried while reading a book.  No bra or other princessy jewelry for her, unfortunately, because I couldn’t think up any cool things to adorn her with D:

Started drawing this one at work in black and white, added the color right before uploading (that’s my disclaimer in case you don’t like the coloring I did!).  Work in progress pic from my Instagram:

Part of the 30 Day Drawing Challenge.

Leave a Reply

